Skip to content
Award · 03.15.2023

ENR's Best of the Best 2022

The 20 projects recognized here are the result of a nearly yearlong effort by ENR editors and roughly 100 construction industry members who judged contest entries at various stages. Representing the pinnacle of U.S. design and construction achievements for work completed between May 2021 and May 2022, this year’s award winners show the industry at its best, with teams overcoming an array of challenges to deliver impactful community assets.

Responding to ENR’s initial call for entries in March 2022, nearly 700 project teams submitted entries. In each of ENR’s 10 regions, editors assembled judging teams to pick winners in 20 categories. Of those regional winners, almost 200 moved up to the national competition.

A new group of judges examined each to determine the Best of the Best nationally in terms of teamwork, safety, overcoming challenges, innovation and quality. Three projects were shortlisted as Project of the Year nominees, with the Regional Connector Transit Project in California selected for that top designation. Join us to celebrate these project achievements at the Award of Excellence gala in New York City April 13 and April 14. For more information, visit

The Winners

The Judges

Connie Crawford   Connie Crawford
ASTM North America
Director of Rail and Transit

Steven T. Halverson   Steven T. Halverson
The Haskell Co.
Chairman/CEO (Retired)

Chuck Jablon   Chuck Jablon
Skanska USA Building Inc.
Senior Vice President, Construction 

Scott P. Root Sr.   Scott P. Root Sr.
Executive Director of Strategy and Innovation

Keith Douglas   Keith Douglas
The Whiting-Turner Contracting Co.
Executive Vice President

Sam Hassoun   Sam Hassoun
GLA Corp.
Founder and President

Sam Mishelow   Sam Mishelow
Meyer Najem
Director of Client Development

Cliff Schexnayder   Cliff Schexnayder
Emeritus Eminent Scholar, Del E. Webb School of Construction, Arizona State University

Bart Eberwein   Bart Eberwein
Hoffman Corp.
Executive Vice President (Retired)

Randy Iwasaki   Randy Iwasaki
Iwasaki Consulting Services

Rachel Green Rasmussen   Rachel Green Rasmussen
Architect and Principal

Edgar Westerhof   Edgar Westerhof
Vice President – North America Adaptation Solution Lead  

Excellence in Safety Judges

Steve Acosta   Steve Acosta
Blach Construction
Senior Safety Manager

Carl Heinlein   Carl Heinlein
American Contractors Insurance Group
Senior Safety Consultant

Excellence in Sustainability Judges

Yayu Lin   Yayu Lin
Sares Regis Group of Northern California
President, Commercial Division

Shefali H. Sanghvi   Shefali H. Sanghvi
Dattner Architects
Director of Sustainability and Senior Associate

Jeff Stanton   Jeff Stanton
Vice President

Date Published: 03.15.2023
Source: ENR
Link to Original Article (May Require Registration)

Keep up to date with our latest news and industry insights.

Our website uses cookies. Cookies are small text files held on your computer that help us understand how you use our Website. Our cookies do not store any personal information about you, and you can delete and block cookie settings via your browser settings any time. By clicking “ok”, you agree to accept our use of cookies. Learn more by reviewing our privacy policy.